Workaround for the ORA-01008 error when working with .net datasets

When you try to use the original provider dll from Oracle (Oracle.DataAccess.dll ) instead of the one of Microsoft's ( System.Data.OracleClient.dll ) there is a possibility that you will get an annoying error like

ORA-01008: not all variables bound

This is due because the Oracle guys decided to bind the parameters when executing a SQL command by index as default behavior instead of bind them by name. You will get this error when you use more than one parameter.

Read full article

Articles by Month Joomla Module

Since I installed my site, I always was looking for a way to show my articles grouped by month. But Joomla only offers the "Archived Article" module, that only will show as its title says, your articles in archived stated.

It was incredible for me that Joomla didn't offer a way to filter the articles by month, even WordPress has a plugin for that included in the core. I just recently did a research and all the modules I found were commercial or they needed you to register, so I ask my self "let's try to hack the existing archived articles module ". The result was another module that I called " Articles by Month"

Read full article

Soccer World Map

It has been a while since I got my hands into Google Maps and JavaScript front – end development, because in my actual company ( Taleo – Oracle ) the applications we develop are very different from those I develop in Korem, and I don't touch anything related with front-end coding. Also, I wanted to test the one nice discovery I made: the Bootstraps framework. The main objective was to code something using a mix of Bootstraps, GoogleMaps and JQuery, so I had the idea of show the location of the professional soccer teams from all over the world. So here is the result:

Click to go to read the full article


Read full article

An Astronomical Navigator made in Ext-JS 4 and Google Earth

I was curious about experiment with version 4 of Ext-js. I have some time developing in versions 3.X, so I decided to make something related to astronomy, because I have some experience as amateur astronomer.


I realized that Google Earth had a Sky mode, something like a space explorer with a full catalog of deep space objects. So, here the final application, and some features I found interesting, :

Read full article

StartUp Weekend Quebec City

Comment faire pour créer un produit qui aura du succès et sera capable de générer du profit ? Est-ce que tu sais qu’est-ce que ça implique ? Tu es capable de réunir toutes les pièces du casse-tête et les organiser pour faire que ton idée de produit fonctionne ?


Lire la suite...

Module Joomla - Articles par mois

Depuis que j'ai installé mon site, j'ai toujours voulu avoir une façon de regrouper mes articles par mois, mais Joomla seulement offre le module "Archive Articles" et comme son nom dit, il va afficher seule les articles avec le status "archived".

Il est incroyable pour moi que Joomla n'offre pas une manière de faire ça tandis que WordPress a ce type de plugin intégré de façon standard. Donc j'ai fait une recherche pour essayer de trouver un module pareil mais j'ai pu trouver seulement modules commerciaux où il fallait se inscrire au site qui l'offrait pour le télécharger. En suite je me suis demandé " pourquoi pas essayer du faire moi même en modifiant le module de archive articles ". Le résultat a été un nouveau module que j'ai appelé " Articles par mois "

Lire la suite...

Soccer World Map

Ça faisait longtemps que je ne touchais pas code relié à Google Maps et Javascript, parce que dans mon entreprise actuelle ( Taleo - Oracle ) les applications qu'on développe sont c'est différentes de celles qu'on développait chez Korem, et je ne fais aucun code par rapport à la partie client web. Je voulais aussi tester une belle découverte: le framework Bootstrap de Twitter. Le but principal était de coder quelque chose en utilisant Bootstrap, Google Maps et JQuery, alors j'ai eu l'idée d'afficher où se localisaient les équipes professionnelles de soccer dans le monde. Voici le résultat:

Click pour lire l'article au complet


Lire la suite...

Un navigateur astronomique créé avec Sencha Ext-JS et Google Earth

J'avais besoin d’expérimenter avec la version 4 de Ext-js. Ça fait quelques mois qu'on développe avec la version 3.X donc j'ai eu l'idée de faire quelque chose qui avait comme sujet l'astronomie parce j'ai quelques connaissances en tant que astronome amateur.


Je me suis rendu compte que Google Earth avait un mode Sky, un genre de explorateur du ciel profond avec un catalogue d'objets astronomiques. Donc voici quelques fonctionnalités que j'ai trouvé intéressantes :

Lire la suite...